Community Recycling Centres to be established

The REROC Waste Forum has successfully obtained a grant of $705,720 from the NSW Environmental Trust to establish eleven Community Recycling Centres (CRCs) across the REROC region. The grant was announced by Member for Wagga Wagga Daryl Maguire on 6 March.

REROC Community Recycling Centre funding announcement

The grant has been funded from the NSW Government’s Waste Less Recycle More initiative to build Community Recycling Centres for the safe disposal and recovery of household low toxic wastes.

Eleven centres will be constructed in the REROC region where residents can drop off problem wastes that cannot be put in kerbside bins including paint, oil, batteries, gas cylinders, smoke detectors and fluorescent lights. The Drop Off is a free service with the EPA meeting the cost of the collection and disposal of the problem wastes

The initiative builds on the existing Chemical CleanOut events that are held every two years in the REROC region by providing permanent and convenient drop-off locations that are easily and readily accessible for householders.

The CRCs will be established at landfill and transfer station locations in Bland, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Greater Hume, Gundagai, Junee, Lockhart, Temora, Tumbarumba, Tumut and Urana and are expected to be operational before the end of 2015.